How to Appear Happy and Nonchalant in 3 Easy Steps

Everyone on this vast planet falls into 1 of 3 categories (regardless of background or culture): you are either an optimist, a pessimist, or a realist. My name falls under the realist column, but I am continuously striving to conquer that optimism status. I attempt to see the bright side of things, the silver lining in the clouds, but life has taught me to anticipate certain outcomes. Hope for the best, but ALWAYS prepare for the worst…that’s me in a nutshell. Life has dished out some doozies over the years; been there, done that, got the freaking t-shirt! Lessons have been duly noted, trust me!

Being Happy

In saying this, we all have bad days, experiences, and moments in our travels through this crazy thing that we call life where we just DON’T feel like being happy or pleasant to be around. Well, what if life doesn’t ALLOW us to take the time that we need to regroup; what to do then? No one wants to spend their days around a crotchety person, let me tell you!  This is where these 3 little steps will come in handy.

Step One: Plaster a smile on your face.
My mama had a very hard life, but regardless of how bad or difficult things became, she managed to keep a smile on her face. She could sit there and rip me a new one (during my semi-rebellious teenage years) with a giant smile spread across her face. Now I realize her reasons for doing so. It was her defense mechanism, and it helped her to maintain her sanity. I do the same thing on occasion.

Step Two: Laugh often.
I had a bit of a breakdown the other day…a lot of crazy things have been happening lately, and I finally just hit that point where I had to get it out.   Rather than blowing up or having a pity party, I burst out laughing.  It was the only thing that I knew to do at that point.  Yet another defense mechanism (this one being mine). If I can laugh it off, then I can make myself numb to the disappointment and frustration that inevitably awaits me.

Step Three: Don’t go public with the pity party.
You know how when people ask you how your day is going, they are doing it to be polite or to initiate conversation. They REALLY don’t want an honest answer! In saying this, sometimes it is best to just keep your personal problems at home. Unless you have the “I’ll be your shoulder to cry on at 3 in the morning” kind of friendship, it is best to just keep your mouth shut! But, it you’re lucky enough to have that kind of friendship, take care not to abuse it. If you’re moaning and groaning every time that you talk, they’ll eventually tire of it and make new friends. Don’t run away those few that you have.

So, these are my few steps in coping with those difficult points in our lives.  Do YOU have any other steps to add?

My dad’s piece of wisdom for the week: “When you see that light at the end of the tunnel, that shimmer of hope, always keep in mind, it could always just be a train headed your way.”

5 thoughts on “How to Appear Happy and Nonchalant in 3 Easy Steps

Leave a comment