Tell All Tuesday Series: Teasing

Q-What did people tease you about when you were young?

Rainbow Brite
A-My food. I was raised as a vegetarian until the age of 6 (when my parents split up), and I chose to continue eating this way throughout my life. It was always SO embarrassing to open up my lunchbox at school only to discover the putrid odor of an egg salad sandwich sitting inside. Delicious, but SHOO! It’s enough to gag a maggot!

Another food that I was teased over quite often was my Bologno sandwiches. For years my BFF teased me over the look and smell of my sandwich “meat,” but she quickly changed her mind once she had the guts to actually try it.

Even my loving husband has teased me over my choice in food. We were lucky enough to get a “Date Night” without the kids (this was ages ago mind you), so we decided on dinner at Long Horn Steakhouse. He looked up at me and inquired what I had chosen for my entrée and when I told him, he looked at me and said, “I just don’t understand why you can’t order a steak like a normal person!” Suffice it to say, he made me cry in front of everyone. I just never thought that HE, of all people, would be SO critical of me!

So, there you have it. Food…that necessary evil; that daily source of nourishment and nutrition; the unrelenting daily conflict (a.k.a. what to eat). It has always caused such turmoil in my life; But, oh how I LOVE it so! Now it’s your turn.

What did people tease YOU about when you were growing up?

9 thoughts on “Tell All Tuesday Series: Teasing

  1. Erika Kind says:

    Although it is so much better than years ago. But still it is tiring when the kids like/dislike different things to eat… You really want to put healthy things on the table and it also tastes really good but then these faces. Really annoying and tiring over time!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Just Plain Ol' Vic says:

    The usual things when you are a kid I suppose.

    For me specifically it was wearing glasses (I have needed them since elementary school) and being a nerd. I find this ironic since I was not a good student (GPA-wise) until I went to college, lol!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

