Tell All Tuesday Series: Freedom

Q-What would FREEDOM mean to you?

Freedom

Image Courtesy of Pixabay

A-A few nights ago, I ran across a video on YouTube that covered this exact question. A young man and his lovely new wife were up to their eyeballs in student loans and consumer debt. They had just had their first child, and were debating on whether or not to purchase their first home. After all, that IS the traditional order of things. But, everything within them was screaming, “NO! Don’t do it!” as the already existing financial strain was beginning to take a toll on their marriage. They sat down together at the kitchen table and took the time necessary to HONESTLY evaluate this one single question.

They concluded that their idea of “Freedom” was to rid themselves of all but 2 backpacks worth of possessions, and travel around Australia. That night was the ultimate tipping point of their existence, and it opened up doors that have made all the difference in their lives. They got rid of all of their possessions, paid off each loan and debt, and then hopped a plane to Australia with baby girl in tow. They had decided on a change (a drastic one at that), they executed their plan in a timely fashion, and they haven’t looked back since! This experience completely liberated them, and allowed them to follow their dream. They agree that it was BY FAR the best decision that they have ever made!

In my present reality, there are 4 factors that I believe would grant me Freedom…

One: Purge my Possessions:

I have been working on purging my home for a good year now, and have made a dent, but after watching that (and several other) videos, I have concluded that it’s time to increase my speed. While I HAVE been diligently putting my “Sell” items up in the attic as I go through closets and drawers, and have been posting and selling items on numerous online venues, my possessions are at a snails pace getting out that door! People blow up my phone constantly (sometimes waking me in the wee hours of the morning), wanting to meet up (Gotta have it, Can’t wait!!!), then…CRICKETS. I’m on the verge of just donating it all!

Advantages to Purging:

  • No Clutter
  • Easier to keep house-healthier environment
  • Free up time to focus on more important things
  • Less stress and worry
  • Monetary profit can pay down outstanding debts

Two: Work from Home:

My husband is almost twice my age. The older he gets, the more dependent he becomes on me, both mentally and physically. Plus, I only have a few years left to enjoy having my babies at home. I work from home on all of my business ventures anyway, so why not put myself into the position to focus on these projects full-time?!

Advantages to Working from Home:

  • Be there to care for my children and my husband
  • Sick days-even when I feel awful, I can still make progress and keep the funds rolling in
  • No juggling act to concern myself with in regards to appointments and deadlines
  • Exhaustion-If I NEED a 30 minute power nap, I’ll have that option
  • Need I say…All of the comforts of home

Three: Become a Property Owner:

As a renter, there are always those nagging hypothetical scenarios that plague you in the back of your mind…What if they won’t let us renew…Sure wish I could paint these stark white walls…I wish I could have a pet for the kids…If I could only grow a victory garden…Ah, to have a pool… Not to mention the fact that a mortgage is generally a WHOLE lot cheaper than renting. Yes, if something goes wrong or needs fixed/replaced, it’s all on you, BUT each item that you upgrade ONLY benefits the ultimate cause. You’re making an investment towards your future, and the resale value of your home, if you so choose.

Advantages of Owning Property:

  • Freely making changes to your property
  • It’s an investment for your future, or can serve as estate for your family
  • Saving money each month to use in other directions
  • No chance of hard feelings if a disagreement occurs with your landlord
  • The satisfaction of OWNING in and of itself

Four: Putting Myself on a Pedestal:

Being a mother, a grandmother, and a wife, my natural instinct is to put the needs of those most important to me FIRST. Whatever time, money, or energy that is left at the end of the day, I can devote to my needs and wants. While (in theory) this is a good mindset to have, MY needs are JUST as important as theirs are! I need to start placing myself higher up on that pedestal, and allowing myself the things that I want and need from life. As the old cliche goes… “If Mama ain’t happy, ain’t NOBODY happy!”

Advantages of Placing Myself on a Pedestal:

  • A happy, balanced life
  • I’d be making an investment in myself, which only increases my value to others
  • The more time I spend on me, the less stress and worry I will have, thus the happier and more content I will be
  • I will be better able to appreciate each blessing in my life
  • If I focus more on me, I will be agitated less, have fewer mental/creative blocks, and will increase the years that I have left to live

These 4 categories, I believe, will allow me the freedoms that I need from life. So, what does FREEDOM mean to YOU?

***I do realize that today is Wednesday.  This was my post for yesterday.  My granddaughter got sick at school, and I was tending to her until her mother got done with work.***

2 thoughts on “Tell All Tuesday Series: Freedom

Leave a Reply

