Tell All Tuesday Series: Software

Q-Did you know that there are FREE alternative programs that are similar in nature to the Microsoft Office Suite?

Tell All Tuesday Series...

A-Honestly, I just never gave it any thought. Everyone uses Word, so I did the same. I wanted to make sure that any file that I sent would be accessible by the receiving party. But, with the price tag on Word (and other programs within the Office suite), and this new PC that only has a trial version of Office 2016 (and the fact that I can’t download Office Starter with this new operating system), my curiosity got the better of me. I discovered that there are a TON of free programs that are comparable to Office, and the one that I decided to go with was LibreOffice. I downloaded it last Friday night, and so far, I am highly impressed! The programs that are included in this Office package include:

  • Writer Document (Word)
  • Calc Spreadsheet (Excel)
  • Impress Presentation (PowerPoint)
  • Draw Drawing
  • Math Formula
  • Base Database (Access)

You have the option to save files in:

  • ODF Text Document (.odt)
  • ODF Text Document Template (.ott)
  • Flat XML ODF Text Document (.fodt)
  • Unified Office Format text (.uot)
  • Microsoft Word 2007-2013 XML (.docx)
  • Microsoft Word 2003 XML (.xml)
  • Microsoft Word 97-2003 (.doc)
  • Microsoft Word 97-2003 Template (.dot)
  • DocBook (.xml)
  • HTML Document (Writer) (.html)
  • Rich Text (.rtf)
  • Text (.txt)
  • Text-Choose Encoding (.txt)
  • Office Open XML Text (.docx)

The layout of each program is very user friendly and similar to Microsoft’s, so learning how to maneuver around is a breeze! I have yet to find a previous file that I created in Office that I cannot open with this new program. The transition has been delightful to say the least.

For those of you that are interested, Microsoft Office is now offering FREE use of their products (which is fabulous for college students!!!), but it is available online ONLY. For the link, click HERE.   But, if you’re anything like me, I do the majority of my work in these programs offline, and generally in locations that are not accessible to Wi-Fi.

So, just wanted to spread the word along and help out anyone that I can. Anxious to hear your feelings on the topic…

6 thoughts on “Tell All Tuesday Series: Software

  1. Belinda O says:

    You may run into some compatibility issues down the line. I’m told a lot of these similar programs are actually clones of outdated Microsoft software, which for most of us isn’t an issue, but at some point, there may be a need for the “real” thing, especially since the differences may be programming, and not user-noted.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

