How to Make a Quilted Rag Bag

Iron Fabric

I realize that there are already a TON of videos/tutorials that cater to this particular project, but I felt that you would enjoy seeing what I have been working on for the past couple of weeks.

Coordinating Fat Quarter Choices

54 Cut Squares

When I was stuck in bed recovering from an upper respiratory infection, I decided that this would be a fun and relaxing creation to take on. Even when I feel as though I’m on death’s bed, I cannot manage to just sit still; thus, the birth of my rag bag.

Prepping my Squares

Gluing and Pinning

I had to hit the pharmacy anyway, so I decided to choose a few new items for my project. I found 3 corresponding fat quarters and a roll of fabric remnant that looked fabulous together. I purchased these items and headed home to my trusty wooden board (my art table).

Stitching my X

I ironed my fabric and then began cutting it into 54-5 inch squares (this would be SO much easier if my rotary cutter were sharp!), 2-3  by 27 inch strips for my straps, and 1 strip of fabric which measured 2 by 12 inches for my closure strap. Then I realized that because this was a “quilted” project that I would need some batting and interfacing to pad each square and strap with; items that I was fresh out of. Next best solution…fleece fabric. I cut 27-3 ½ inch squares, and 2-1 ½ by 25 inch strips for my straps.

Placement Plan

I took my fleece squares and placed them in the center of my 2 “exterior” fabric squares and dabbed a bit of glue in the center to hold it in place. I then pinned the squares together in each corner for just a bit more slide prevention.

My Straps

After repeating this process for all “27” squares, I headed to the sewing machine. I stitched an X on top of each square and then started pinning each square together based on rows. I made sure to have the edges tucked on the “outside” of my bag and made my way to the machine once again. Once each row was complete, I stitched the rows together to start forming my bag shape.

It's Coming Together

Once that step was complete, I added the straps, making sure to tuck them between the “outer” squares on the top row on both sides of the bag. I then added and stitched in my closure strap. Finally, I went through and started cutting “strips” on the edges of each of the squares to allow for fraying. Final step…wash and ruffle the fray.

She's Standing Up Now

NOTE: When sewing squares together, there is about ½ inch left open for fraying. Make sure that you DO NOT cut into your stitching! This will seriously jack up your bag! For my straps, I stitched about 1/8 of an inch on each edge, and then did a center seam to hold my fleece strip in place. Plus, it creates a pretty final look.

Begin the Fray

So, there you have it. Not the ideal tutorial, but like cooking, I just do whatever works best for me. I’m not a precise measurements kind of girl; I just go with it until I’m pleased with the final result.

Closure Strap

Have you ever made a Rag Bag before? I would love to hear about your experience!

11 thoughts on “How to Make a Quilted Rag Bag

Leave a Reply

