Tell All Tuesday Series: Foreign Languages

Q-Do you speak a second language? Are you fluent? What inspired you to learn?

Tell All Tuesday Series...

A-I was born and raised in an English speaking household, and I guess I should consider myself fortunate, as “English” is apparently the hardest of all the languages to learn. In 10th grade I was required to take 2 years of a foreign language. I wanted to take German, but my ghetto school didn’t offer that course, so I was stuck choosing between Spanish or French. I ended up going with Spanish, as I felt it would prove more useful than French would in my life. I learned enough to get through the class, but have retained VERY little over the years.

When I moved overseas I felt that I should make it a point to learn the language of my new country. I spent a lot of time studying, and was able to get to the point where I could go to the grocery and KNOW the ingredients that were in my purchases (I loved shopping at Kaufland’s and at Aldi). By no means am I fluent in a second language, but my dabbling has made life a bit easier. It also helped having a German girlfriend when I lived over there. She taught me SO much!

Kaufland

The one problem that I ran into on occasion, was jumbling the 2 languages together.  Do you have that problem?

What’s your story?

13 thoughts on “Tell All Tuesday Series: Foreign Languages

  1. Lynn Thaler says:

    I am fluent in ASL. My biggest problem was getting the word order correct. ASL has more in common with French grammar and syntax, than with English. After several years of studying and talking to native speakers on a regular basis, I started to dream in ASL.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. La Sabrosona says:

    Jumbling them together is my thing Krista 😉 That’s why my blog is called my spanglish familia. Our life is a definite mix of English and Spanish. I have responded to English speakers in Spanish before. That was funny and embarrassing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mopana says:

    I am telling you, Krista, Romanian is a very difficult language to learn. When a friend asked me to help her to learn some words I realized that our grammar and pronunciation is hard to learn. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. stuffthatneedssaying says:

    I took a Spanish class through a 9-week enrichment course when I was 8 and learned very little. Then I took Spanish through all 4 years of high school and my first year of college. I used to use it a lot but had gotten rusty, so I pulled out the Duolingo app and tested my skills. After the initial placement test and then either testing out of or completing all of the remaining lessons it says I’m 37% fluent.

    Like

Leave a Reply

