How to Create your Own Stencils

In case you haven’t noticed by now, I am ALL about pinching pennies and stretching each dollar as far as it will possibly go. A few years back, I got super psyched about art journaling and mixed media. I was on the hunt for a multitude of new supplies, and when I started pricing stencils, my heart skipped a beat! I was appalled at how much they were charging for these flimsy little sheets with designs punched out of them. So, I came up with a DIY way to create my own stencils.

First, I scoured the internet looking for fun “stencil designs.” Then I printed these designs out onto a thick card stock paper, and taped them onto a semi-transparent plastic school folder (you can also use those page divider sheets, but they’re a little more expensive). Then I placed this on top of my self-healing cutting mat (you can also use a cutting board if you don’t own a craft mat) and using a new x-acto blade, I began very S-L-O-W-L-Y cutting out my design. My tip for you is to invest in a pencil grip that you can slide onto your x-acto knife. After a while, the metal REALLY starts to hurt! Once your design is cut out, clean up your work area, and try out your new stencil.

I have found (if using paints) that the very best way to clean your stencil during a creation is to wipe it down with a baby wipe. Once you are done with your piece, you can properly clean your stencils with soap and water.

Well, there you have it; fun DIY stencils. Do you have any ideas, tips, or tricks to add?

9 thoughts on “How to Create your Own Stencils

Leave a Reply

