When it Rains, It Pours!

My lovelies, how I’ve missed you! I promise I didn’t fall off the planet. You know the old saying, “When it rains it pours?” Well, I am living proof of its validity!

So, when I left you last, my grandson had been transferred to another hospital, and my nephew was in need of gall bladder removal.

When my grandson Maddox finally got settled in the NICU unit at the new hospital, the nurses took it upon themselves to inject him with a shot of morphine. They did it behind my daughter’s back, and I believe without the doctor’s consent. He is doing well now, but is still a resident in the NICU unit. He is now being weaned off of the morphine, and hopefully will be able to go home soon. My daughter has been SO strong throughout this ordeal, and has yet to miss a feeding, despite the 30 minute commute.

My nephew’s condition continued to worsen, so they ended up doing an emergency surgery (after numerous attempts to move him to another hospital). They removed his gall bladder, and set him up in a room to recuperate. We visited him in the hospital, and during that visit he began to get sick. They were trying to release him, but were forced to move him to CCU for the night. As soon as we left the hospital, he went into a diabetic coma, and it was then that they realized he also had a staph infection caused from their lack of administering his antibiotic (which they had been told about DAILY from his mother) that was ordered after his first surgery. He was immediately moved to ICU. They managed to get his sugar level under control during the night, and he was released from ICU to go home the very next day.

Is it just me, or does proper protocol seem to have been disregarded in BOTH of these cases?!

Needless to say, it has been a VERY difficult couple of weeks for our family…Mentally and Physically! BUT, it doesn’t stop there!

Sunday we had to pick up my youngest from his grandparents’ house to get him home to gear up for his return to school from Winter Break. They were running behind schedule, so hubby and I decided to grab some grub down the road. We were turning the corner, and due to the sharp turn and angle of that particular stretch of road, we ran into the curb. (If I hadn’t yelled out “CURB!!!”  it would have been A LOT worse!)  It pushed our wheel into the car, preventing us from even moving it out of the road. The car had to be towed to a body shop close to our house (which is an hour from where we were) and we are looking at $2,000+ in repairs. Fortunately, our insurance is covering all of this, but we discovered that even though we have “FULL COVERAGE,” a rental car wasn’t included in that package. Say WHAT???!!! So, all week, I have been bumming rides to work.

Does the insanity end there? No, not quite. Hubby and I are still ill, and now ALL 3 of the children have this little virus that’s been going around.  My poor babies!

I don’t dare ask, “What else can go wrong?” I’m scared of the answer!

So, this is the broad explanation of our New Year Adventures. It’s been hectic, heart wrenching, and exhausting! I felt it best to tend to our affairs, and catch up with each of you once my mind had cleared some. I hope you can forgive me. I don’t like being absent, but it was necessary.

On a positive note, when my brain is fried, I focus on mindless crafts; something easy to maintain my sanity. I finished Maddox’s baby blanket which I created using the Moss Stitch, and I have FINALLY figured out how to properly “bead crochet” or create “tubular” bead bracelets.

Maddox's Moss Stitch Baby Blanket

Crochet Beading

Tubular Bead Bracelet

I finally heard back from the artist I wanted to interview yesterday. He has been busy with the holidays. I am looking forward to sharing this talented artist with you! Stay tuned…

Things have been rough, but my spirit has been untouched. 2016 is GOING to be my year!

16 thoughts on “When it Rains, It Pours!

  1. stephiesbeadsandbaubles.com says:

    oh my gosh, that is horrible what you went through. I agree hospitals do not follow their own protocal. I took my best friend into our ER as she was worried her wound was not healing from a big surgery she had. They took blood, said she was fine and sent her home, NEVER once looking at the wound. Her doctor is out of town as she was at work when she was rushed in for emergency hernia surgery. The next week he looked at it and it was raw hamburger, which they would have seen had they actually looked at it. He scheduled a surgery to clean it out and see why she was still wearing a wound vac two months after surgery and she had a very dangerous infection that they treated aggressively. Should not have happened.
    We have to be our own advocate anymore. Pretty darn scary. So happy to hear your loved ones are okay.
    I hope you all feel better soon, I am so sorry to hear you are sick !!
    xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mopana says:

    Hey, Krista! You were not absent at all. You were present in our thoughts and hearts. When a friend is in need, we are with him forever. That’s why friendships exist. I hope you are all well and that virus is your only problem now. Take care and be strong! Many kisses :*

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

