Lunchbox Letters

One of my fondest memories from childhood was discovering little love notes from my mama in various locations; be it in my lunchbox, in my pants pocket, on my bulletin board, or taped to the bathroom mirror. She always took the time (despite being a single mom) to ensure that my sister and I felt special and knew just how much she loved us. Sometimes they were pep talks to get us through a situation, while others were just her expression of sentiment. Regardless of what those little notes said, they were always cherished.

Lunchbox Letters

A few years back I saw a man on Inside Edition who had filled a book with the “lunchbox letters” he had put together for his daughter. If memory serves, he was suffering from cancer, and wanted to make sure that she had something special once he was gone. My mama was DEFINITELY ahead of her time! I have continued on in this tradition with my children, though I have slacked some over the past couple of years. I really need to get back into that habit. It’s always the little things that mean the most!

Rather than planning an unrealistic New Year’s Resolution this year, make it a point to start this great tradition for your babies. Your time with them is super short, and it’s little gestures like these that greatly impact their future and the types of adults they will become.

Do you/have you ever given/received lunchbox letters? I would love to hear about them…

7 thoughts on “Lunchbox Letters

  1. Erika Kind says:

    Krista, this is wonderful! I used to do it too for my children. I put them some notes in it or smileys. But after some years that got lost. But I loved doing it. It is a wonderful way to tell them: I think of you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

