Tell All Tuesday Series: Parental Advice

Q-What advice did your parents give you that you wish you had followed?

My Wedding Day
A-It was October of 1999, and I was moments away from walking down the aisle on my daddy’s arm, when he looked me in the eye and told me, “It’s not too late to change your mind.” Of course this struck a nerve and the tears began flowing. So there I am, walking down the aisle on my wedding day, bawling my eyes out, not from tears of joy, but from hurt feelings. The only thing that I have ever wanted out of life was for my daddy’s approval; for him to be proud of me, and to be supportive of my decisions.

That statement haunted me for years, and finally, years after my divorce, my daddy shared the whole story of my wedding day.

Apparently, while I was getting dolled up with the girls, my husband-to-be was playing his guitar in one of the spare rooms. My dad went in there and told him that it was time to put it up and make his way to the chapel, and he basically blew my dad off and informed him that I could wait, which of course pissed my dad off. Deep in my heart, I knew that our marriage wasn’t going to work out. I got a half of a proposal before he passed out in my lap! But, trying to do right for my son, I tried to make it work. But, there’s only so much that you can do on your own! I wish I had followed my daddy’s advice on that one.

What advice did your parents give YOU that you wish you had followed?

14 thoughts on “Tell All Tuesday Series: Parental Advice

  1. Erika Kind says:

    You went through so much and perhaps the signs showed up early. But for some reason you decided to go for it and see where you are today: Stronger, experienced, a rock for your children, and………. you have your children!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mopana says:

    Sometimes we realize too late that we’re wrong. Another time we do not want to accept that we are wrong. I already lived both. I love my dad and I would love to follow his advice always, but maybe not all the time 🙂 It’s a paradox? Maybe I am too young and I don’t understand some things?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Baijen says:

    Thank you for sharing this touching personal account of your life. There is something in our human make-up which wants us to do what we think is right, even though deep down we have a strong feeling that it is not the right move to make. One thing that is paramount in these cases is that we are not putting ourselves first. We push our true feelings down and let outside influences take centre stage. Yes, I think sometimes we are young and just don’t recognize or appreciate the significance of ignoring our feelings.

    Krista, you did not forget those feelings as you learned from that experience and somewhere inside you there was a “Never again!” moment. You’re in the driving seat of your life, instead of being a passenger! You will always step forward from that experience in your life. Onwards and upwards for you!

    My grandmothers advice “Keep your head on,” She was a strong lady, independent, resourceful, social, peacemaker and patient. She always said that women have so many things to deal with, but if we keep our goals in mind and didn’t get too distracted, we can get to where we want to be for a better life, as there is no guarantee that we will have support in life. I look back in some key moments in my life and would have liked to have had her words pop into my head during some testing times. I am glad to have had the luxury of her and her words in my life.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Krista Kemp says:

    Yes, I am now, and will remain in the drivers seat of my destiny. Once my children are grown and gone, living their lives to the fullest, my satisfaction will take center stage. I plan to be super selfish, and focus on my needs, rather than the needs of others. I have been catering to others for so long, it will finally be my turn. What I want to watch, eat, listen to, partake in. If I want to stay in my craft studio until 3 am working on a creation, I will do so and sleep until noon the next day. Looking forward to it!

    Your grandmother was a very wise woman! I’ve been giving that exact speech to my daughter. Do what will make YOU happy, and always be self sufficient. Never depend on a man, or anyone else for that matter. Place yourself in a position where you can support you and your babies (should you choose to have them) and have a man in your life ONLY if you want him there.

    Thank you so much for sharing! I love hearing from you Jennifer!

    Like

Leave a Reply

