Tell All Tuesday Series: What does your Thanksgiving Dinner consist of?

Tell All Tuesday Series...
Fall is in the air, and scrumptious food is on my mind. I am gearing up for our annual Thanksgiving feast, and my mouth has already started to water! Each year we stick to the same menu, as our dinner would not be complete without each of these items. We have entertained friends and family on a few occasions over the years, but it is generally just our immediate family, which is perfectly fine by me. I make a fantastic feast, and I just assume NOT have to share it; more for me. YEAH!

So, let’s get to my menu…

My sister in law is an absolute whiz in the kitchen and she is always kind enough to provide us with a pot of Homemade Southern Style Pinto Beans and a tray of her famous Chicken and Dressing. It is always so moist and tasty, and it beats having to throw away a half-eaten (we’re not crazy about the dark meat in my house) dry bird!

Even though I don’t touch the stuff, the family is wild about some Ham. Back before the funds got tight, I used to order a little spiral ham from Honey Baked Ham. Since then, I have discovered one at Sam’s that is comparable in taste (so I’m told), but a WHOLE lot easier on the wallet.

In addition to these 2 Meats and Pinto Beans, we have Homemade Macaroni and Cheese. I add a can of Mushroom Soup to my batch, but have to make a separate batch for everyone else. We also have Homemade Mashed Potatoes (a.k.a. Taters) and Gravy, Green Bean Casserole, Fried Carrots, and Acorn Squash.

There are several ways to prepare Acorn Squash, but I have grown quite fond of slicing it into bite sized chunks after peeling the outer skin off. I throw my cubes into a greased dish, and then cover them with Butter, Brown Sugar, and Salt. I then bake, stirring every so often, until the squash has a nice soft consistency. It is a delectable treat, and the kids get so excited when they realize that I’m making up a batch.

We always have an abundance of Deviled Eggs, Dinner Rolls, and a skillet of Cornbread. For beverages, I supply Sweet Tea, Egg Nog, and Boiled Custard. Hubby always drinks his Vanilla Cokes, and I generally stock up on Baja Blast before the Taco Bell shuts down for the holiday.

Thanksgiving Dinner

For dessert, I bake a homemade Chocolate Pie, and a Homemade Pumpkin Pie, and I ALWAYS make sure to have a container of Ice Cream and a couple cans of Reddy Whip available.

How about you? What does your Thanksgiving dinner consist of?

4 thoughts on “Tell All Tuesday Series: What does your Thanksgiving Dinner consist of?

  1. TeresaR says:

    Thanksgiving dinner for me is always a good sized turkey. If mom cooks it we make it with the basic bread stuffing. When it’s my year I do either a cranberry and apple stuffing or a sausage and apple stuffing. Then we bake a ham studded with cloves, pineapple rings and cherries. Our sides include the sweet Hawaiian rolls, mashed potatoes, gravy, salads, green bean casserole, yams with the marshmallow top, sweet potatoes, and cranberry sauce. Then desserts are the traditional pumpkin pies, a few different apple pies, chocolate pies. For my grandpa R and I, I made us a butterscotch pie to share. Then since we celebrate both my dad’s birthday (Nov. 23rd) and my brother’s birthday (Nov. 28th) we made apple squares for dad and an ice cream cake for my brother. Add in the sodas, coffee, and other drinks. Oh and we also had ice cream and whipped cream on the side.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Krista Kemp says:

      Sounds like a mighty fine feast! Can’t beat the company! I hope that your dad and brother have a fabulous birthday, and that you have a wonderful Thanksgiving! It was great hearing from you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

