One Lovely Blog Award

YouMeanMe from Saving Without Scrimping, has nominated me for the One Lovely Blog Award.  She has a fantastic blog that focuses on living and loving life on a budget.  She has some very informative posts that are well worth the read!  Head on over and check her out; you just might learn something new…

One Lovely Blog Award

One Lovely Blog Award Rules:

  • Display the banner/sticker/logo on your blog.
  • Share 7 facts or things about yourself.
  • Nominate 5 bloggers that you admire and inform nominees by commenting on their blog.

7 Facts About Me:
1: Despite my nearly grown children, my wifely obligations, my full-time job, and my business ventures, I sometimes forget that I’m an adult!  While I realize that I’m a grown woman, and can go and do as I please, sometimes it just strikes me, and I’m like “Oh, yeah.”  Does anyone else experience these moments?

2: I read a blog post the other day, from Escape Adulthood, discussing our desire to become millionaires. (To see this post, click HERE) It was a fantastic read, and it got me thinking. I have never been obsessed with becoming a millionaire, nor having an abundance of wealth; my desire has always been to reach a “comfortable” status. I don’t want a BIG fancy mansion to live in (too much to clean!), I’m not concerned with a bright, flashy car (it’s just a means of transportation), and shopping sprees don’t interest me in the least. I only want to get to a point where there is more than enough to pay the bills each month, money to set aside for the children and their futures, and to be able to go to the grocery store and not have to tally up what each item costs. I want financial freedom (of sorts); relief from a lifetime of struggle, that’s all.

3: Since becoming an adult, and living out on my own, I have never made an attempt to get social with my neighbors. While I know hundreds of people around town, who each know me by name, I like to keep my life private.

4: The Twenty Something Social Recluse wrote a post last week about being a people pleaser (see post HERE). As much as I hate to admit it, I am a bit of a people pleaser. I always put the needs and wants of my family over my personal needs, and I try to keep the peace among my friends and co-workers, but I only allow others to push me up to a certain point. I detest being taken advantage of, and will eventually stand my ground if I feel it needs to be done. I know that I need to exercise a bit more authority, but I have always been taught not to rock the boat or burn the bridge, and to NEVER bite the hand that feeds you!

5: I have been driving for 20 years now, and can honestly say that I have never been involved in a wreck that was deemed my fault.

  • My first wreck, at the age of 16, was when a State Trooper flew in front of me before school and slammed on his breaks to avoid missing his morning stop at the awful Waffle House.
  • The second, I was stopped at a red light after school, when two vehicles plowed into the back of me, causing me a painful case of whip lash.
  • The third, was a Holier Than Thou, Private School mom, who side swiped me. She informed me that “she forgave me, but that she hoped that the Lord would do the same.” Really?!
  • The fourth, I was coming home from work, going slowly through my ghetto apartment complex, when an attorney peeled out of his parking space, thus smashing into the side of my car. He never looked to see if anyone was coming, and was in too much of a rush to exchange insurance information with me.
  • The fifth and final wreck, happened just a few years back. I was taking my son to the orthodontist when I was rear ended by a drunk who wasn’t paying attention to traffic.

I was not the cause of any of these accidents, but I AM responsible for every one of my speeding tickets over the years. I have a bit of a lead foot, and I am faced with too many tasks to tend to each day. I don’t have time to get behind the joy riders or the blue hairs that monopolize the road. I zip in and out of traffic, taking advantage of every “hole” that comes available. Just for the record though, my last ticket was in 2005. I am LOVING my “good driver” insurance rate!

6: I started collecting candles when I was 14 years old, and have obtained some really neat ones over the years. I also have an obsession with incense. I have been buying and burning them for as long as I can remember. My favorite scent is Patchouli.

7: While I was born cursed with these “Big Bones,” I was blessed with my tiny hands, feet, and stature. My engagement ring is a size 5 (and twirls around it is so loose), and I wear a size 4 in little kid shoes. I save a TON of money when it’s time to invest in a new pair, as kid’s shoes are generally half the price as their adult versions!

At my last doctor appointment, I measured in at 5’2. I haven’t grown an inch since 5th grade, and my oldest 2 have been taller than me for some time now. You win some, you lose some…

My Nominees:

Georgia over at Destined For Grace

Robyn over at Robyn Christi

Elle over at The Persistent Platypus

Deep Philosofi.

Ifrah over at My Frame of Mind

Thank you again YouMeanMe.  I really appreciate your nomination!

2 thoughts on “One Lovely Blog Award

Leave a Reply

