One Lovely Blog Award

I have been nominated for the “One Lovely Blog Award” by The 20 Something Social Recluse. Her blog is full of great writings and super useful and informative posts. Make sure to drop by and check her out. Thank you SO very much for this nomination! I am honored to receive it!

One Lovely Blog Award

The Rules:

  • Thank the nominator and link them.
  • List the rules and display the award.
  • Add 7 facts about yourself.
  • Nominate 7 other bloggers and let them know via a comment.

7 Facts About Me:

Fact One: In the past 34 years, I have 5 hospital stays under my belt.

  • Stay #1-Weeks shy of my very first birthday, I suffered from a severe (almost deadly) case of Salmonella. As per the story I have been told, my babysitter made me a sandwich with mayonnaise that had been out in the Florida elements for too long, thus causing a very sick and dehydrated baby.
  • Stay #2-Giving birth to my baby boy, Kody. The typical 2-day stay.
  • Stay #3-Giving birth to my sweet baby girl, Kayla. The standard “hospital stay” in Germany (based on what I was told) is 5 days, but after expressing to my doctor that my husband (ex) was incompetent and incapable of caring for my son that long, I was able to go home hours after giving birth.
  • Stay #4-Emergency Cesarean with my youngest son, Kolin. I was doped up on morphine, but believe I was only there for a few days. Unfortunately, my premature miracle baby had to stay for a few days more in NICU. You’d never know it now!
  • Stay #5-After being told it was “Just Allergies” by multiple doctors, I finally found a physician who took me seriously. We discovered that I had a massive amount of gall stones, and he suggested that we opt for gall bladder removal. Then I went to my OBGYN and discovered that I had a Teratoma (tumor that resembles a fetus in my ovary which was the size of an infant’s head). I made plans to have these two organs removed as well as a mole from my shoulder (that ended up being cancerous). They ended up taking both of my Fallopian tubes while I was under. I was there for 2 days.

I’m not a huge fan of hospital stays! Been there, done that just a few too many times.

Fact Two: My favorite flower has always been a daisy. I love the simplistic beauty of it! It ties in with my inner hippie spirit.

Flower Child

Fact Three: I have always enjoyed coloring. It is super therapeutic (for me at least) and it reminds me of my one-on-one days with Mama when I was a little girl. Mama always bought my sister and I Precious Moments coloring books (she collected the figurines and has the most impressive collection today). She would color one side and I would color the other. I was always amazed by how much prettier her pictures turned out than mine. She always took it a step further and added little details like polka dots, swirls, and hearts. By doing this, she motivated me (without realizing) to keep working harder and to never give up until I had reached my desired outcome. Its mind blowing how such an innocent activity can elicit such profound growth!

As the years passed, I discovered that I enjoyed the super detailed pictures, and found that my preferred coloring utensil was Prismacolor Colored Pencils. It is because of these years of coloring that I have morphed into such a detail oriented artist.

An Artist in the Making

Fact Four: When I was in Pre-K, there was a little girl in my class that had double jointed fingers. I thought it was so cool how she could bend her fingers, so I started to emulate what I saw. I’m not sure if I was double jointed prior to my experimentation, or whether I created them, but I now have double jointed fingers. While it is a cool party trick, it can be embarrassing at times, and painful at others. Every so often they lock up. It will be a miracle if I have the use of my fingers when I grow old. I believe that carpal tunnel will eventually seize them.

Fact Five: When I was growing up, I was a chunky girl. I had a larger build (you know, the “I’m not fat, I’m big boned” dilemma) like my daddy, while my sister was super skinny like my mama. I battled with my weight for years, and finally decided in 6th grade to do something about it. Of course I went about it the wrong way, but ended up a size 4 by the age of 17. While I had a slim waistline, my heart shaped ghetto bootie and these childbearing hips made it damn near impossible to find clothes that I liked and that would fit. If they fit over my ass, they were super loose in the waist. So, after years of disgruntled and frustrating clothes shopping sessions, I have grown to despise it! Unfortunately, now my clothing issues don’t revolve around my super skinny waist and ghetto bootie. Those days are LONG gone! I find it easiest just to stick with a good pair of blue jeans (I love my Silver’s!) and a band T-shirt. I stay so cold that I wear a hoodie year round, so why waste the effort trying to look cute? It’s all about comfort these days! And shoes…what girl do you know that’s NOT a fanatic over shoes? Well, you’re looking at one. I have 2 pairs of tennis shoes, 2 pairs of flip flops, 1 sandal, and 2 pairs of house shoes. That’s enough for me!

Fact Six: All my life, my favorite color has been purple; that deep, dark, rich Royal Purple/Indigo shade. Over the past few years, Kawasaki (neon) green has been added to my list. Those 2 colors together are absolutely gorgeous!

Fact Seven: One fact that fascinates me is that I have gone 34 years without breaking one single bone. This blows my mind because I am SUPER klutzy! I have boogered myself up pretty bad over the years (me being the daredevil that I was), but I have never once broken anything. Sometimes my feet get twisted in the sheets/blankets at the end of the bed and I go stumbling through the room trying to regain my balance. All the while my loving hubby is rolling his eyes under cupped hands, shaking his head, snickering, and enjoying the show. AND, sometimes, I forget how big my hips are that I slam into tables, chairs, shelves, desks, really anything and everything within walking distance. My nickname at home is “Grace,” and my lower region is covered with bruises. I couldn’t begin to tell you the cause for any of them!

Well, there you have it; 7 new facts about me, Krista Kemp. Thank you again, The 20 Something Social Recluse, for this wonderful award! I have had a wonderful time sharing these little tidbits from my life.

My Nominees for the One Lovely Blog Award:

Glitchy Artist

Bora Blog

Heena Rathore P.

Through Open Lens

Souldier Girl

Impacted By Life

Joann’s Food For Thought

10 thoughts on “One Lovely Blog Award

Leave a Reply

