Blogger Recognition Award

Blogger Recognition Award

My Friend, my Ray of Sunshine, my Fellow Blogger, Ms. Erika Kind, has graciously awarded me with the Blogger Recognition Award.  Thank you SO very much Erika!  I am honored to receive this award!  If you have never been over to visit this talented writer’s corner of the blogosphere, then you need to make the time.  She is an absolute delight, and her fresh outlook on life is enough to brighten the worst of your days.  Erika, thank you again for this recognition!

The Rules:

  1. Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to.
  2. You cannot nominate yourself or the person who has nominated you
  3. Write a post to show your award
  4. Give a brief story of how your blog started
  5. Give a piece of advice or two to new bloggers
  6. Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog
  7. Attach the award to the post (right-click and save, then upload)
  8. Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them
  9. Provide a link to the award creator:  Edge of Night.

Blogger Recognition

My Blog Creation:

For years I have considered creating a blog, but I had always held off because I just never had a clear idea of what I wanted it to be about. With the creation of my 5 year plan, the opening of my Etsy shop, and all of the goals that I had set out to obtain, it only made sense to bite the bullet and start one up.

When I began blogging, I still only had a broad idea of its purpose, but I knew that the topics would revolve around following your dreams, various inspirational and motivational tidbits, and life lessons that I felt others could benefit from. I have truly enjoyed my time thus far, and my expectations have been exceeded tenfold! The blogging community embraced me with open arms, and for that, I am truly thankful.

I have made some phenomenal friends in the short time that I have been blogging, and I have realized how supportive others from around the world can be. To each of my readers, please accept my sincerest “Thank You!” Your interactions have made each day special for me, and I look forward to our friendship evolving throughout the years.

My Advice for Up and Coming Bloggers:

  1.  You don’t have to have it all figured out when you first begin blogging. Your entire direction may end up changing once you get your feet wet. Things that I had planned to implement when I first began, I have realized, were not necessary, and did not tie in with my overall theme/niche. I tried my best to cross all my t’s and dot all of my i’s prior to my blog launch date, and I have come to realize that it was just a bunch of useless worry and time. So, don’t delay, start today!

2.  Before I began blogging, I had the worst time trying to wrap my mind around the differences between an RSS feed and a Newsletter. The only way that I was able to rationalize it, at that time, was by using a Facebook comparison. The RSS feed is similar to your “Friends” on Facebook. Your friends want to make sure that they don’t miss any of your news feed updates, so they befriend you. The RSS feed is like the news feed in that you will get an email for all new blog posts (updates) from blogs that you follow. A newsletter, ONE, has to be signed up for, and TWO, has additional material (posts, tutorials, updates, contests/raffles, and so on) that is not covered on your blog, similar in nature to “Like”-ing a Facebook business page. With newsletters, you can choose the frequency that they are sent out, while with the RSS feed, it is shot out every time you publish a new post. I know that my comparisons are a bit of a stretch, but I hope that it aids you in hitting that “Aha, I finally get it!” moment for at least one person. I searched high and low for that useless little tidbit, and never did find my answer. But, in my defense, my brain was super fried (WARNING: Information Overload!!!) by the time I got to that point in my research.

My Nominees:

  1. Sarah Sue at Sarah’s Attic of Treasures
  2. Vic at Just Plain Ol’ Vic
  3. Tingting at Empower Love
  4. Lyn at Lynz Real Cooking
  5. Stephie at Stephie’s Beads and Baubles
  6. Rich at Waffle Me This
  7. Teacup Talk
  8. Tricia at Sometimes I Cook
  9. Amy at The Twenty Something Social Recluse
  10. Brey at Ordinary Adventures
  11. Supa Life of a Shopaholic
  12. Ushasree at Creative Crafts DIY
  13. Diana at Myths of the Mirror
  14. Heidi at The Art in Party Planning
  15. House of Heart

Erika, Thank you again for nominating me for this award.  It is truly appreciated!

 

28 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Sarah's Attic of Treasures says:

    I love you for this. Krista,
    I am laughing because a month or so ago i finally admitted to myself and everyone here that I love the awards and realized I needed to get over this silly hesitation I have.. the fear of leaving someone out …the fear of ..oh who knows what…Procrastination….
    So I wrote a post and published it…saying I was going to start accepting them or at least start doing some of them…..
    They Are fun…..
    Have I done any? No.
    Why? I keep putting it of.
    Not really meaning to but I have.
    So as my lists grows…And I’ve misplaced many…..
    I do remember who I got my first one from ….You…
    I just don’t remember which one it was for.
    So Krista, I just added this one to my sticky notes…..I will do it.
    Promise.
    And I know I don’t have to.
    Love you
    Sarah

    Liked by 2 people

    • Krista Kemp says:

      I am SO glad to hear it! They are a lot of fun. Time consuming, but fun. My hardest delemma is finding interesting facts about myself. Surviving and being a mom, you lose yourself. I struggle here. Getting better though. Have a super day lovey!

      Like

  2. The Twentysomething Social Recluse says:

    Thank you for nominating me Krista! You and your blog deserved this award. Your advice to new bloggers is great – I wish I had read it when I first started blogging! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beaton says:

    Great stuff ^_^

    Yeah some things you wish you had read about before blogging hey.

    I am an avid researcher of things and I absolutely get carried away with new bits of info till I forget what I meant to find in the first place
    Cheers hey

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Erika Kind says:

    Oh, yes, Krista “Information Overload”…. in the beginning it is cool to be informed about new posts. No need to always check the internet. But after a while…. 300 emails a day were getting too much.
    I am so glad you just started and let things unfold. You said that perfectly, that no one acutally has a clue when they start, it develps and it does over the interaction with our wonderful community. So happy you are a part of it, Krista.
    Thank you so much for participating and a huge hug for your so lovely words for me 😘😘😘

    Liked by 1 person

  5. robertmgoldstein says:

    Congratulations on the award.

    I’ve nominated you for the Three Day Quote Challenge.

    You are under no obligation to accept but is you do, here
    are the rules:

    Thank the blogger, who nominated you.
    Publish 3 quotes on 3 consecutive days in your blog. It can be your own, or from a book, movie or from anyone who inspires you.

    Nominate 3 more bloggers to carry on this endeavor.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Shiva Malekopmath says:

    Writing Award Post is interesting and ofcousre time consuming.
    But for the recognition that one gets is Great.
    Its also an exercise to appreciate others, which normally people tend to avoid it.
    Its also one way you can distribute the Love around.
    People are ready to wander around carelessly and waste time, but do not want to share the Love they in plenty in their Hearts.
    I Loved to read this Post and You have done Justice.
    Congrats!!!
    Shiva

    Liked by 1 person

    • Krista Kemp says:

      Shiva, thank you SO very much for your kind words. They are greatly appreciated! I share the love whenever I am given the chance. There are millions of phenomenal bloggers in the world, and I enjoy sharing their stories with others. Thank you for commenting…I love to hear from my readers! Have a wonderful evening!

      Like

Leave a Reply

