Tell All Tuesday Series: Your Thoughts on Dentistry

Tell All Tuesday Series...

Question: How do you feel about the Dentist?

Answer: I am obsessed with my teeth! I am SO obsessed, that I actually started college in hopes of obtaining a degree in Dental Hygiene. I even went so far as to go through the 4 hour observation that was required prior to starting class (which was a cut in my work day and a loss of money when I really needed it as a single mother).

I was fine with all of the blood and gore procedures, like root canals, bridges, and so on, and then a little boy came in to have a tooth extracted. Everything was going wonderfully until I heard his tooth “POP” when it came free from the gum line. That was it! Game Over! Cannot Deal! So, I reconfigured my educational goals, and made the proper adjustments. My major changed from Dental to Business and finally to Computer Science.

Dental Care

So, anyway, dental care has always been a HUGE deal in my family! My mother always made sure to stay on top of dental visits, and when the time came around, she provided my sister and I with braces. Since moving out on my own, I have had to take over the upkeep of my dental care. Only within the past year have I had dental insurance. So, needless to say, all of the work done over the years has been paid out of pocket. Thousands upon thousands upon thousands of dollars have been dished out for these bad boys, and they are far from perfect, despite my efforts.

I absolutely LOVE going to the dentist, and would go every single day if they would allow me! There is just NOTHING better than the feeling of freshly cleaned teeth!

How about you? What are your feelings towards the Dentist?

9 thoughts on “Tell All Tuesday Series: Your Thoughts on Dentistry

  1. Beaton says:

    You would go everyday…. If they let you? Hahaha gosh I have a mild fear about dentists what about that crazy 1 out of ten who is like a character straight outa a horror fest drilling holes in your skull with drill haha OK I have a healthy imagination.
    But I pay attention to my dental hygiene, they say your smile might be the only reason that people like you.

    Question though, why do dentists in TV commercials wear a stethoscope around their neck, I mean if I went to see a dentist and he or she lol had a started listening to my heart during a “routine” procedure I’d be worried.
    ~B

    Liked by 1 person

    • Krista Kemp says:

      I sure would, but I’ve always had great experiences. I don’t worry about the crazies out there! I’m a tough old broad, and would dare someone to try some renaissance method on me. They would regret crossing paths with me!
      Actually, the stethoscopes are for the more in depth procedures. They have to ensure that your heart rate remains at a “normal” pace when doing the more involved procedures. They don’t bust them out for the routine/preventative visits. Thank you for commenting. I love to hear from my readers!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Just Plain Ol' Vic says:

    I hate going to the dentist but if nothing else, my current one has impressed upon me enough that I floss daily and brush my teeth properly. Too damn expensive to have the ol’ grill fixed.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

