Liebster Award

I have been nominated for the Liebster Award from Donna, over at The Raven 6825.  She has a fabulous blog full of poetry, quotes, and writings with deep meaning.  Make sure that you check out her amazing talent!  Donna, thank you SO very much for the nomination.  It is greatly appreciated!

The Liebster Award

The Rules

  • Once you are nominated, make a post thanking and linking the person who nominated you.
  • Include the Liebster Award sticker in the post too.
  • Nominate 5 -10 other bloggers who you feel are worthy of this award. Let them know they have been nominated by commenting on one of their posts. You can also nominate the person who nominated you.
  • Ensure all of these bloggers have less than 200 followers.
  • Lastly, COPY these rules in the post.

1. What is the story behind your blog name?

My blog was created to document my journey, from food stamps to a future, so it only made sense to name it as such. I wanted to have a special “sounding board” here on the web so that I may encourage, motivate, and inspire others through my experiences, my trials, and my tribulations. Success can be had by all, provided they are willing to stick with it until the end. I want to be a beacon of hope for those who are searching.

2. Why did you start blogging? Has it turned out to be what you expected?

I began blogging because I wanted to be the change that I wished to see in the world. I wanted to make a difference in the lives of others, and knew that I would have access to so many more individuals in need on the web.

I have thoroughly enjoyed my blog so far, and the people that I have made connections with have been an absolute blessing in my life! I was hoping that my blogging venture would be this way, but was surprised by how fast my following has grown. I have quite a few very devoted readers, and they are always here for me when I need to bounce around ideas.

3. Do you have a significant other? How did you meet?

Yes. After years of giving up hope that there was a compatible soul out in this vast world for me, I was blessed with my loving and supportive husband, Rusty. When I first met him, he was my boss. A friendship developed, and years later we fell in love. The rest is, as they say, history.

4. If you could live one day over again, what day would it be?

I would have to say that the day I would like to relive is when my mother arranged a “surprise” Spa Day for my 21st birthday. Every aspect of that day was perfect!

5. Weirdest thing you eat?

I guess the “weirdest thing” that I eat is my vegetarian food. I don’t think it’s weird, but everyone else seems to think so. I have been ridiculed my entire life over it, and on more counts than one, has it been compared to dog food by different people. All I know is that I enjoy it, so the rest doesn’t much matter. Everyone is  entitled to their own opinions.

6. Favorite dessert?

One of my favorite desserts is Strawberry Pretzel dessert. The sweet strawberries, the salty pretzels, and the creamy cream cheese center makes it an exhilarating taste bud experience. If you’ve never tried it, make up a batch. The recipe is provided for you below.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

Ingredients (Crust)

  • 3/4 Cup Melted Butter
  • 3 Tablespoons Sugar
  • 2 Cups Crushed (Not Fine) Pretzels

Mix together and press into a 9 X 12 casserole dish.  Bake at 400 degrees Fahrenheit for 8 minutes.  Let cool for 5 minutes and place in fridge to get cold.

Ingredients (Center Layer)

  • 1-3ounce package Cream Cheese
  • 1 cup Sugar
  • 1-9 ounce container of Cool Whip

Beat together cream cheese and sugar.  Fold in Cool Whip.  Spread evenly on top of cooled crust.  Refrigerate.

Ingredients (Top Layer)

  • 1 Large package Strawberry Jell-O
  • 2 cups Boiling Water
  • 2-10 ounce packages of Frozen Strawberries

Dissolve package of jello in boiling water.  Stir in both packages of strawberries.  Let sit for 10 minutes.  Pour on top of center layer and place in fridge to solidify.

Once jello has completed “setting up,” serve.

7. Favorite books?

My all-time favorite book is Bag of Bones by the king of horror himself, Mr. Stephen King. They tried to create a mini-series, which did NOT do the book justice! I couldn’t even finish it…SO disappointing!

 8. Favorite movie?

My favorite movie, as I’ve mentioned before is, The Count of Monte Cristo. The deception and the tactics concocted for revenge are stellar! Fabulous movie…I highly recommend you watch.

9. Music you listen to for inspiration?

I have come up with some super creative ideas while listening to Nine Inch Nails and Pink Floyd. Some other good inspirational tunes (in my opinion) include: Evanescense, Linkin Park, Portishead, Gorillaz, Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin, and The Psychedelic Furs.

10. What’s one piece of advice you’d give your younger self?

I would smack myself upside the head and drill “forget about the damn boys!” into my head. They have been the root of my individual growth delay. I am SO glad I’ve finally got it all figured out!

My Liebster Award Nominees:

Zoe over at Zewing

Emma over at Life, Kids, and a Glass of Red

Julianna over at Julianna Ballentine

Natasha over at Mama Duck Quacks

Rebekah over at Wildflower in the Weeds

Donna, thank you again for the nomination.  I sure do appreciate it!

16 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. triciaroxane says:

    Congrats!! I’m not vegetarian, but I have two friends who have been their whole lives and some of the food they make is incredible. They make ‘nut-loaf’ that I swear is better than any meatloaf I’ve ever had – vegetarian can definitely be delicious!! =D

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

