No-Meat Meatballs

This is my all-time favorite vegetarian dish!!! Everyone that tries these bad boys fall in love and beg for the recipe, including my hubby man until he found out that they were meatless. He had even asked me to make a second batch.

Yummy Meatballs

I first had them at the age of 12 and I have been making them since. I have tweaked the recipe slightly over the years to accommodate the food that I had available to me (kind of hard to find a roll of prosage in another country that dines on mass quantities of pork products).

Generally, when I plan out my meatball dinner, I stick to the same side dishes: Hawaiian Sweet Loaf (sliced and smothered in butter), Fried Shaved Carrots, Homemade Mashed Potatoes with Brown Mushroom Gravy, and either Peas (frozen), Broccoli and Cheese, Sautéed Mushrooms, or my Daddy’s Sweet Creamed Corn (check out HERE how to make it). Every once in a while I’ll throw together a salad to go with it.

Normally when people think of meatballs, they think pasta. I suppose that you could use this recipe with a pasta dish, but I associate the flavor as more of a stand-alone entrée as opposed to a topping. I’m pretty sure that you’ll agree with me once your taste buds have the pleasure of trying it out. So, let’s get down to this fantastic recipe…

Prosage Meat Balls

Ingredients:

  • 1 large Onion-chopped
  • 1 cup Grated Cheese
  • 1 cup chopped Walnuts
  • 1 roll Prosage, crumbled
  • 1 cup Bread Crumbs
  • 4 Eggs
  • ½ teaspoon Garlic Powder

Directions:

Mix and shape into balls (or use an ice cream scoop). Layer in a greased 9 X 13 casserole dish.

*NOTE:  I generally double up the recipe, so there is plenty for everyone.  In place of a large onion, I use 1 packet of Lipton Onion Soup mix.  I use Mexican Blend Cheese (only use 1 cup or it takes longer to cook), I don’t care for walnuts, so I leave these out.  Instead of a roll of Prosage, I use a bag of Morningstar Farms Griller Crumble (found in the freezer section of your grocery store-green bag). 

Sauce Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ cup Ketchup
  • ½ cup Brown Sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Chili Powder
  • ½ cup Water
  • 1 cup Butter, melted

Directions:

Mix together and bring to a boil in a saucepan. Pour over meatballs. Bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for 30 minutes or more if needed.

*NOTE: I generally cover the bottom of my casserole dish with a thin layer of sauce prior to placing the meatballs in.  Halfway through cooking, I rotate my meatballs and apply a fresh layer of sauce on the top.

What is your favorite vegetarian dish?

10 thoughts on “No-Meat Meatballs

  1. Just Plain Ol' Vic says:

    There is a Asian grocery store not too far away from where I live, they have a little restaurant in the front. All the food they serve is vegetarian and they use meat substitutes. They serve a awesome bowl of ramen that has a good spicy kick, not to mention awesome lychee slushes!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Krista Kemp says:

      I always splurge on Morningstar when I can. It’s SO expensive! I don’t care for a lot of their products, my dad swears by all of them. I like the grillers, griller crumble, chic patties, breakfast links/strips/patties, and their corndogs. SO good! Check them out. Just tell Danny they’re meatballs. It is a complete mental thing!!! LOL!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sarah's Attic of Treasures says:

        It is a mental thing all the way.
        Danny use to ask me what was for supper . What was in it. What was it name. Somethings just don’t have a name.
        Yet, he loves what I cook as long as I don’t cook certain things. He is fussy but has learned to love a lot of things he never did.
        He use to always want more than one meat at a time. Until I made him go grocery shopping and he had to see how much MEAT was.
        I love BEEF but we seldom have it. for a lot of reasons.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Krista Kemp says:

        I’m right there with you. My husband grew up with 3-4 choices of meat, side after side to choose from, and rolls, biscuits, and cornbread at each meal. Things aren’t like they were when he was a kid. Times have changed, and prices are outrageous!

        Like

Leave a Reply

