How do you get your kids to try new foods?

Tell All Tuesday Series...

I have always tried my best to offer my children a well-balanced meal each night. A lot of the parents that I “work for” run through McDonald’s each night to grab dinner. Poor babies! They don’t even know what a real meal looks like. My dinners tend to include 1 meat, 1-2 vegetables, 1 bean, either potatoes or pasta, and bread. On occasion we have a side salad with our meal. People who have visited during dinner time ask me why I prepare such a feast. It’s just a normal meal in my home. There are a lot of hungry tummies here, and I want to make sure that everyone’s belly gets full. The best part is, we rarely have any food leftover.

Try new foods

Ever since the children were babies, I have encouraged them to try new foods. I taught them that they should always try something once, and if they don’t like it, then they don’t have to eat it again. But, they have to give it a fair shake. My youngest discovered just recently how much he enjoyed Spinach/Artichoke dip. When my aunt came in for a visit a few years back and saw my kids ordering salads for lunch, she looked at me and said, “How in the world did you manage that? My boys won’t touch anything healthy!” I just shrugged and told her that they love their fruits and vegetables, which they do. My oldest loves corn and carrots, my daughter loves salads and cherries, and my youngest loves bananas and salads. I even convinced my granddaughter to try my green beans, after she expressed how much she disliked them. It is now a requested vegetable anytime she is with us at dinner time.

So basically, in order to get my babies to try new foods, I just don’t give them the option. They have to at least try it; with an open mind. After that, the decision is theirs.

How do you get your kids to try new foods?

6 thoughts on “How do you get your kids to try new foods?

  1. Sarah's Attic of Treasures says:

    It is amazing how alike we are. I was fortunate ….Bobby liked everything but peas and cabbage…
    So I ate his…
    I agree with you. I always cooked a huge meal. Meat, veggies…..potato, rice or pasta…..Salad and sometimes we’d have dessert. We drank MILK or juice.
    I had more trouble with Mike and Leah….They wanted to play and eat. They ate SLOWLY. I mean SLOWLY. They didn’t like new things…..Till they tried it. If they really didn’t like something then that was it.
    Now Mike and Leah follow the same rules with their kids.
    I love it.
    When I ran the daycare center. I fixed MEALS for the kids. I would ask sometimes for them to send a snack lunch……Just to be different.
    It was appalling what they had for their lunched. I also had a mom that wanted to help . She always sent BOXED MAC N CHEESE and HOT DOGS. Or Ramen Noodles. I gave most of that to our church for food drives.
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Krista Kemp says:

      Great minds think alike lovey! I know ALL about the slow eaters…it’s SO aggravating! Some of the kids at daycare pack their own lunches…nothing but sugar! It’s ridiculous! If you’re going to have kids, make sure that they have proper nourishment. Yeah, the ladies that think they are helping out are classic. Boxed max and cheese , ramen, and hot dogs, no thank you.

      Like

      • Sarah's Attic of Treasures says:

        I love a good hot dog…..Brat….on a good bun with STUFF on top that doesn’t include ketchup only.
        Just not for every day. It is just not healthy or appetizing. I knew at least the kids got 2 meals …good ones and plenty of snacks…..and the occasional trip to Taco Bell . It was just across the street. Very Occasional. It was a treat for them….
        They were also well behaved. With their parents…..They were monsters. Not all of them but way too many.
        I had moms and dads bring their kids in at 6 or 7 …be late picking them up ..or want to leave them overnight . I charged out the ying Yang for that with most of them. Not the few who did it for an Anniversary or something.
        I took Kids with me EVERYWHERE.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Just Plain Ol' Vic says:

    Admittedly I am an awesome failure in getting my kids to try different things. My daughter has severe food allergies, so she is naturally nervous trying anything new. My son has yet to find a vegetable he likes.

    *sigh*

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

