Community Compassion

Follow the Golden Rule

Over the past 34 years, I have been witness to 2 acts of kindness. The first was a few years back. I was picking up some cleaning supplies at the Dollar General store and was in line behind a woman in her late 20’s, early 30’s. There was an elderly lady in line in front of her. Her items had been rung up, and she was digging through her change purse trying to find her remaining balance. She informed the cashier that she was going to have to put some of her items back, as she didn’t have enough to cover the bill. The younger lady (in front of me) told the cashier not to worry about it, and to ring her items onto the ticket, as she was going to pay for the elderly lady’s things. The little old lady was flabbergasted. She just could not do that. The younger lady said that she wasn’t going to dispute this, and that she had it covered. It brought tears to my eyes! The elderly lady was so appreciative. She hugged the girl and continued expressing, “God Bless You” as she left the store.

The second act of kindness that I witnessed was very similar in nature. This time it involved a gentleman in his mid-40’s and an elderly woman trying to purchase toilet paper and items for a meager dinner. He had the cashier ring her items into his total.

Two kind souls in 34 years. That’s awful! What has happened to human compassion and decency? Are we so wrapped up in ourselves that we can’t follow the Golden Rule? I do what I can, when I can, to help others in their time of need. I even help others when I can’t even help myself.

I have started the “Community Compassion” (FaceBook group) project for my blog subscribers, to help us to get involved in helping the less fortunate. I have a few VIP members, but am anxious to see this number climb. I want for us all to unite and bounce ideas off of one another on what we can do to make this world a better place. There are millions of people in this world who are struggling and unable to get the help that they so desperately need. People starving, people in severe pain, people who need household essentials, people who are lost in this world and who just need a friend. In most of these cases, they “make too much money” to qualify for assistance, yet struggle just to keep a roof over their heads. They are so far in debt, there is no end in sight. Join this important cause; it’s FREE. Help us make this world a better place.

What do you do to help others?

18 thoughts on “Community Compassion

  1. Erika Kind says:

    I am sure there are so many more acts of kindness. People who are simply there for one another, most of all in difficult situations. People who simply smile at others in order to make them smile. People who treat other people without taking money. People who stop and have a lovely talk with a homeless person. People who safe their tips for others in need. People who work for charitable societies also without taking money. I know many of those. There is a lot of light in this world. And if we think that there is still too little light (which I think) then we schould become a light ourselves and act.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Evgenia says:

    Your post brought tears to my eyes.. I remembered the “kind” moment from my experience… your right in your intentions.
    I also belive the change starts from you. If everyone of us makes an effort the world will be a better place.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. YesterdayAfter says:

    Beautiful post Krista I am so proud of you and your voice out! I always did help whenever i could during my whole life. When I moved to US in 2002 I was surprised to barely see any homeless around. I am very lucky to live not in L.A. or in a big city, but also if where I am is a very nice and safe residential area, this year I was stunned to see how many homeless there are now at the corners of the streets, things has changed a lot financially that people cannot afford anymore their homes and straggling with debt…it is very sad!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Krista Kemp says:

      It is sad! I have had my trials and tribulations over the years, yet I have managed to provide for my family, and have been able to keep a roof over their heads. There are a lot of children that don’t have that. They suffer due to the decisions that their parents have made. I always do what I can for others, and hope to be able to continue to do more. A little compassion and human decency is all that this world needs!

      Liked by 2 people

      • YesterdayAfter says:

        I agree I had my tribulations too due a divorce I had to be everything for my daughter and being in a foreign country having my family in Italy it has been very hard I was alone in a storm…a couple of angels crossed my path during that journeys but still wasn’t easy… 🙂 you and me have many things in common… 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • mother wintermoon says:

        I was one of those children, Krista. I’ve been homeless as a teenager and young adult woman. I have never blogged about that time in my life, but I have many horror stories of what happens to young girls and woman on the streets. Thank you for all you’re doing to motivate and raise awareness. I have paid for groceries several times when the person in front of me didn’t have enough.. Peace and love, MW

        Liked by 1 person

      • Krista Kemp says:

        Life is hard and people can be cruel. I hope that through my community compassion project we can help make life a little bit easier for others. It only takes one person to notice and care, to transform someone else’s life. To the world we may only be one person, but to one person we may be the world. I think that you should blog about your experiences. You may be the voice that another is desperately searching for. I am happy that you have been in a position to help others with their groceries. It is a gratification that one cannot explain. I’ll bet that person still remembers your kindness, and shares their experience with others. Thank you for your comment. It is nice to hear from like minded folk.

        Like

Leave a Reply

