Time Out Does NOT Work!!!

At Whits' End

So, after 3 kids, and years of all types of issues that required discipline, I hit the wall with my oldest son.  Spankings didn’t work, taking toys and electronics away didn’t work, and taking time with friends away didn’t work…  What was left?  Why, Exercise of course!

I utilized a technique called the Iron Chair.  I have also heard this called by several other names.  But basically, you have your child stand with their heels against the baseboard while their back remains flush with the wall.  You have them squat slightly and extend both arms, palms up at breast level.  You then place a quarter in each hand and dare them to drop either one of them.  They cannot let their hands or arms lower, and they have to maintain their squat stance while keeping their back and feet against the wall.  Not only did this make an impact, but it was great exercise!  Since implementing this as a form of discipline, my troubles with him diminished substantially.  It has been years since I have had to threaten the Iron Chair, to any of the children, and as you know, I have 2 teenagers in the house.  Apparently I’m doing something right…

Time outs are allowed at the daycare where I work, but they have proven to be absolutely worthless!  The kids don’t give a hoot if they get time out or not!  It is a pure waste of time and it is by NO means effective.

When raising your children, keep in mind that each child is different.  What works with one, won’t with the next.  Find what works for each child, and use it.  Earn their respect by not allowing them the opportunity to run all over you.  It will pay great dividends in the future.  Trust me!

How do you discipline your children?

9 thoughts on “Time Out Does NOT Work!!!

  1. Erika Kind says:

    Very true! What works with one doesn’t need to work with another one. I noticed that with sleeping throught the night. My daughter did great. I thought I do everything like I did it with her when my first son was born… but he taught me that this idea was simply bulls… lol

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sarah's Attic of Treasures (Includes Stories From Our Neck Of The Woods) says:

    I was very fortunate with Bobby and his cousins when I had them.
    Most people don’t believe me when I say, I never had any trouble with Bobby. Unless you knew us back then.
    He was by no means perfect. He just never caused me any trouble.
    As far as his oldest 2 cousins …..I had more problems with them wanting to call their mother every time I said NO to something. It was long distance to do so …..
    One thing I do remember….the few times they did call her…..She told them to do whatever I said.
    That was the one promise I made her give me when I was raising her kids.
    Now when I was teaching……As you know ….you are LIMITED in what you did. There always seemed to be ONE child in the class who had to test everything.
    In my daycare/preschool/after school…I made sure the parents were on board with how I handled whatever happened.
    I remember trying just about everything with a brother and sister who misbehaved.
    They were terrors. MEAN. Well, he was mean. She was a follower.
    One time … when they were really “out of control” causing problems with the other children….I called Bobby for help…..He watched the rest of the kids while I spent the day with the 2 in my bedroom….
    All day, minus potty breaks.
    It was a long day.
    I miss kids. I really , really do.
    I can’t say I miss most of their parents though.
    Krista,
    I enjoyed remembering.
    Thank you…
    I am also glad you figured out what to do….

    Liked by 1 person

    • Krista Kemp says:

      I long for the day when I can stop caring for other people’s kids… Some days they stress me out so bad that I’m not able to come home and enjoy mine. You were lucky with Bobby, and a saint for taking on the cousins. I have a few of those terrors where I work. I have been hit, kicked, spit on, and cursed up one side and down the other. Patience has been a virtue of mine, as these kids are still breathing, but the patience supply is beginning to run low. There just seems to be no structure or discipline in some of these families anymore. Thank you for sharing your memories with me. It was great having that peek into your past!

      Like

Leave a Reply

