My Daddy’s Homemade Creamed Corn

When I was 11 years old, I spent the summer with my father in Illinois.  I have quite a few memories from this particular summer, but the one that stands out the most in my mind is of my daddy coming home with bushel after bushel of sweet Peaches n’ Cream corn, fresh from the Farmer’s Market.  I had no idea why in the world he had purchased SO much corn, but it didn’t take long for me to find out!  My sister and I helped him shuck and de-silk every last cob, and then we had the luxury of standing back to watch him work his magic.

His creamed corn is SO delectable; I could make a meal out of this, and this alone.  It puts canned corn to shame! (I won’t touch the stuff)  His corn melts in your mouth, and leaves you craving more!  It is definitely a family favorite!  My sister and I have attended a lot of pot luck dinners throughout the years at my father’s church, and this is one of his most requested dishes.  His talent in the kitchen amazes me and a multitude of others, and the recipes that he has passed down to me stay under lock and key.

I have decided to share his process, but as I am not generally a follow the recipe kind of girl, there are no set measurements.  I throw in a little of this and add a bit of that until it tantalizes my taste buds.  It has taken a good 6 years to master his corn, but I finally have it down.  When my son saw me shucking corn the other night, he was actually going to throw away an opportunity to go to his buddies house, just so he could stay home and eat some corn.  If that doesn’t just say it all!  So, without further ado, let’s begin.

Although money is super tight right now, I saw 10 ears of corn at the store for $3.  I concluded that life was short, so I decided to splurge.

Step One:

Purchase your corn and get it home

Sweet Corn

Step Two:

Shuck and de-silk each cob (The silk kills the overall quality so make sure to get EVERY strand)

Shucked and De-Silked Sweet Corn

Step Three:

Wash each corn cob well

Freshly Washed Corn

Step Four:

Place corn in a boiling pot of water-I use my Lobster Pot when making corn

Time to Boil!

Step Five:

Boil corn until you can smell it through the house

They're Ready!

Step Six:

Dump hot water from pot and refill with cold water-add ice

Time to ice 'em down

Step Seven:

Gather clean pot and corn scraper tool (unsure of the proper name).  I drape a towel over the microwave.  I find it easiest to wedge the tool between the microwave and my stomach to maintain stability while slicing.  It will take your fingers off if you’re not careful!

Ready to Scrape

Step Eight:

Place corn on top of tool and scrape across the blades towards your body

Making Magic

Step Nine:

Scrape each row more than once.  You want all the juices that you can squeeze out of it

Scrape, scrape, scrape

Step Ten:

This is what it should look like when you are done

Looking Good

Step Eleven:

Time to add some flavor…you will be using butter or margarine, sugar, and salt

Adding Flavor

Step Twelve:

Add a bit of butter, several dashes of salt, and some sweet sugar.  It should have a nice mixture of the three flavors.  Sweet and Salty… Delicious!

YUMMY!

Step Thirteen:

Dish it up or store and freeze…ENJOY!

Eat or Store

 Do you have a fond “Food” memory from your childhood?

9 thoughts on “My Daddy’s Homemade Creamed Corn

  1. Sarah's Attic of Treasures (Includes Stories From Our Neck Of The Woods) says:

    Oh Krista,
    I love these kind of stories. Oh the memories they bring back.
    First off: I agree with you…..Canned Cream corn is just not good. I seldom buy canned goods.
    Except for Danny……He doesn’t always know what is good.
    I grew up with a family who cooked like this.
    Not my dad though…I will get to him , in a second..well maybe a little longer…
    We lived on a small farm. I remember many a day spent shucking corn….All day…..fingers and hand hurting from scraping the cobs from the ear.
    Yet, we always had corn for supper that night.
    Still on the cob, though.
    We made wonderful cream corn. Very much like your dad’s.
    We always had cream and butter from a cow and 2 goats.
    Those were awesome days.
    As to my dad and cooking.
    He didn’t cook at all when I was growing up.
    Except when Mom went to Nurses Training when I was YOUNG.
    I don’t remember much of that time.
    I do remember his famous pancakes and homemade syrup,.
    And corned beef hash and a fried eggs.
    Yummy.
    When they (my parents) started RV life….he took to grilling….
    And did other things as well.
    Now that mom is gone he is learning to cook….getting mom’s recipes from my sister and I.
    Thank you for brightening my day.
    Love, Sarah

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

