Tell All Tuesday: Do you find it difficult to ask for help?

Tell All Tuesday Series...

Q-Do you find it difficult to ask for help?

A-I have always been self-sufficient, and realized ages ago that if I wanted the job done right, I would have to do it myself.  So yes, I do find it VERY difficult to ask for help.  I have a lot of pride, and I don’t like to show my cards.  I hold them close and portray the illusion that all is well in my world.  When you show signs of weakness, that’s when the predators close in.

But you can only go so far down before you have no other option but to reach out to others.  I have had a handful of people willing to help out when times have gotten hard, but this is always my last resort; when all other options have been exhausted.  I have never wanted to be a burden on anyone!

How about you?  Do you find it difficult to ask others for help?

13 thoughts on “Tell All Tuesday: Do you find it difficult to ask for help?

  1. Sarah's Attic of Treasures (Includes Stories From Our Neck Of The Woods) says:

    Yes, I have a terrible time asking for and receiving help.
    I had to learn the hard way to simply ask sometimes.
    I had been NEEDING and WANTING to visit my parents. It had been almost 4 years. Until I moved to Florida, I saw them 4 or 5 times a year. We’d visit each other in different states.
    Since living in Florida, we haven’t had the money for us to travel.
    My parents came here to visit 4 years ago.
    Sadly, My mom died last August , without my ever going to visit them.
    When Dad offered to pay my way for the memorial , I didn’t hesitate.
    Because I wouldn’t ask….I never saw my mom again.
    I have always been strong.
    Well, lately, I am not as strong as I once was. I admit I need help.
    Do I usually ask for it?
    “No.! ” At least not right away.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jk says:

    Well…when I go in a store to buy something and can’t find what Im looking for, I rather leave as asking for help. :-). Sometimes people see that I need help and they automatically come and ask. And sometimes I act like someone who’s lost in translation until people offer their help. In other words: Im afraid of asking for help or I just suck on communication, that’s mostly the case. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

